The 2014/15 rugby season in quotes

As the 2014/15 season draws to a close it is time to revisit some of the best quotes from the year. From the amusing to the controversial to the downright crazy…here they are….

Dale McIntosh (Cardiff Coach) – following the Ulster v Cardiff game in March when Nick Williams struck Rhys Patchell in the head.

“A forearm to the head? It should be a red card. I’ve done it enough, I should know.”

Maurice Field (ex-Ireland centre) – also following the same Nick Williams-Rhys Patchell incident

“”Patchell is unfortunate – full-backs do not usually find themselves in those ruck situations. “Nick Williams is a physical guy, that is the nature of his game.”

Nick Williams was subsequently banned for 8 weeks.

Brett Gosper (World Rugby chief) –  when talking about the poor performances of the England cricket team at their world cup Mr Gosper tweeted his thoughts on how he hoped the rugby version would pan out.

“England fail to exit pool in World Cup….Not the words we want to hear during #RWC2015 #CWC2015”

Steve Reardon (Pontypridd RFC boss) – when commenting on the announcement that Pontypridd’s place in the British and Irish cup will be taken by regional A teams.

“It’s very poor form, it’s inconsiderate and disrespectful that they have sprung this on the Premiership clubs.”

“If the Regions believe that the absence of Regional A teams in the British and Irish Cup represents a serious flaw for them then they are deluded.”

““We don’t have a God-given right to be in it but we are being denied the opportunity to qualify.”

Martin Castrogiovanni (Toulon and ex-Leicester prop) – after returning to Welford road with his Toulong team Martin thought it was time to get a few things off his chest!

“Fair enough they deserved to win today. They played really well and we didn’t play our standard. They should play their game of lives. I never want to speak with Cockers any more. I am the kind of guy that if I hate you, if you are not clear with me or if you have been a cunt, how you say in English, I never want to speak to you any more. That’s it. That’s how I am. I am not fake. If I hate you, I say in your face and I will never speak to you again. Love me or hate me. I don’t hate anyone. Peace and love. I just don’t like c**ts.

“I thought f**king Leicester were a f**king amateur team. What about that? If they lost another game at home he [Cockerill] was going to get the sack. Everyone wants to win games against us because we are the best and it’s normal. They played quite a good game, they were physical but they’ve just won a game. All they’ve done is win a f**king game. Now they need to come to our home and we’ll see. We’ll see next week what’s going on.

“I just wanted to say that Cockers is talking too much. He’s just won a game and there is still a lot of f**king games to play in this tournament. He was saying that people go for the money but he has a lot of f**king squad players who get paid as well. I paid my own f**king money to leave this club. I don’t need the money to play rugby. I love this game and I used to love this club – I still love this club, but when people are up to here in water, they talk this talk but don’t walk the walk.”

Richard Cockerill (Leicester Director of Rugby) – in response to the Castro rant.

“Castro is a fantastic icon for this club and I have nothing but praise for him.

“I don’t want him to feel bitter towards us. I certainly don’t feel bitter towards him. One day we will have a beer and we will smile about it.”

Gareth Jenkins (ex-Scarlets and Wales coach) – talking about his time as Wales coach and his sacking in a public car park

“I mean no disrespect to Warren Gatland and what he has achieved. He is a good coach, a modest man and has a fantastic record of coaching Wales.

“But that next year Wales won the Six Nations and I often ask myself the question: If I had had the opportunity to have completed my contract through until the end of that Six Nations, what would have happened?”

Warren Gatland (Wales Coach) – commenting on the reasons why Adam Jones wasn’t selected for the 6 Nations squad

“I don’t think he is the sort of player that you pick on the bench and ask to make an impact.”

Ian Ritchie (RFU boss) – expresses his displeasure after England’s unsuccessful 2015 6 Nations campaign

“Four years as runners-up is not acceptable”

Dylan Hartley (Saints and England hooker) – talking about his disciplinary record

“There’s a fine line and cards seem to find their way to me”

If there are any good quotes we have missed let us know and we’ll add them to the list.  

Leave a Reply

